What Love Looks Like, Part 1

1 Corinthians 13 contains fifteen distinctive marks of love.  In this message Scott Brown identifies the first six of these marks. There are two critical matters to grasp. First, notice that in each one of these marks of love, you can see the greatness of the mercy of God toward sinners. These marks of love are marks of the power of Jesus Christ and His love. Second, It is very important to personalize this chapter. Here is one way you can do so: as you read it, replace your name with love. Then, since you are a member of the body of Christ, replace the name of our church with love.  Here are the six marks of love identified in this message,

1. Love Suffers long when a wrong is done
2. Love is kind when an unknindness is committed
3. Love does not envy when someone else prospers
4. Love does not parade itself when someone
5. Love is not puffed up when wanting to be somebody
6. Love does not behave rudely when responding to others

We deserve the wrath of God for our impatience, lack of kindness, our envy, our parading ourselves our puffed up, our rudeness… We have all done these things.

What should we do? Turn to the only One who always loved perfectly in our place, for “if anyone sins we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the Righteous.” He manifested each of these ways of love perfectly to save those who have mangled each one of them through sin.